Life group work, Gibraltar 05/10/2019

After a very hot month with a lot of visitors, I finally made it back over to the life drawing group. The female model cancelled at the last minute, but Andrew, who organises it, and is used to modelling stepped in to cover. I boldly decided to take acrylics and to work painting straight onto the paper to try and explore skin tones.

2 five minute sketches to start off:

This work took me about 75 minutes in total, I think, before I sprinted for the last bus back over the border. I had a few nice comments from the rest of the group which was good. I am quite pleased with it and also feel I got a likeness to the model.

thumbnail_IMG_20190906_092637_579

I used a dark brown mix to draw the figure out and work the proportions then added colour as I could see it from the skin tones and shadows (and hairy areas!) I achieved a  freshness and spontaneity.

Leave a comment